Finding the Perfect Petite Friendly Pair of Trousers Part 1

As someone who works in a business professional environment. I wear a lot of dress pants and trousers. However, finding the perfect pair has been the biggest challenge of all. As you know, I wear the Sloan fit ankle fit pants from Banana Republic a lot. However in the past year they have the changed the fit. It is now looser in the waist, not as skinny in the calf and ankle and on me there is fabric bunching around the crotch. Not cute at all! I keep buying the sloan pants hoping that they have changed the design back to what they were before but sadly that is not the case. I still wear the new sloan fit occasionally but it is not as flattering on me as I would wish. It is just too big now and not as fitted! Lately I have been on a mission to try some other “petite” friendly options in hopes I can find an alternative to the Sloan pants. For those who don’t know I wear a 00P in the old Sloan fit. Inseam is around 26-27 for full length pants. I also have quite slim calfs and ankles.

I have bought the following pairs of pants and have tried them on. Here are my thoughts on them.

Mid Rise All-New Harper Pants for Women – Old Navy (Size 0P, $25 CAD, regular price $39.94 CAD)

Info from the website

  • New & improved slimmer fit provides a more tailored appearance.
  • Mid-Rise sits just below waist.
  • Fitted through hip and thigh.
  • Slightly tapered leg.
  • 24 1/2″ inseam.

This pair is more of a relaxed fit. Looser fit and cropped. Reviews said the pants ran small which I agree in the sense that the waist surprisingly fit for me. Usually Old Navy clothes fit quite large for me. Like expected it was too loose for me in the legs, I was swimming in the extra fabric. I would have also liked it to be maybe an inch or 2 shorter, on me it hit me at a weird place around my ankle and was not flattering. Another note is that the fabric is cotton. Not a dress pant material, it felt a little cheap to me. I wouldn’t say this is an office pant but a weekend pant. I wanted to make it work however will most likely be returning this.

http://oldnavy.gapcanada.ca/browse/product.do?vid=1&pid=507814063

Bi-stretch Skinny Ankle Pant – Gap (Size 00P, $50 CAD, regular price 79.95 CAD)

First thing I noticed about the Bi-stretch line is that the fabric used is quite rough and scratchy. Maybe with some fabric softener it might change. This pair hit me on the lower half of my ankle, a little longer than I would have liked. The waist fit me, however once again it was quite loose in the upper and lower legs. The fit was not skinny on me either, as it was more of a straight leg fit. These pants made me look shorter and kinda frumpy!  Most likely will not be keeping these either.

Info from website

  • Skinny through the hip and thigh.
  • Mid rise.
  • Skinny leg opening skims the ankle.
  • Inseams: regular 28″/71 cm, tall 32″/81 cm, petite 25″/63.5 cm.

http://www.gapcanada.ca/browse/product.do?cid=1077018&vid=1&pid=130046183

Bi-stretch Ankle Crop Pant – Gap (Size 00P, $40 CAD, regular price $69.95 CAD)

Out of all the pairs this one is the only one I might keep. It isn’t perfect but maybe with a quick wash and high in the dryer it might shrink and be more wearable. (I always use to put my sloan pants from banana republic in the wash and high heat in the dryer and then they were the perfect fit – no longer the case with the new sloan pants). The waist fit in these pants and the length of these were more ideal for me. However once again they are like straight fit pants on me. There is no tapering around the ankle.

Info from website

  • Skinny through the hip and thigh.
  • Mid rise
  • Skinny leg opening skims the ankle.
  • Inseam: regular 25.5″/65 cm, tall 27.5″/70 cm, petite 24″/61 cm.

http://www.gapcanada.ca/browse/product.do?cid=1077018&vid=1&pid=639917013

One thought on “Finding the Perfect Petite Friendly Pair of Trousers Part 1

Leave a Reply

